Painting on wood

Set of four panel pictures “Tree of Life”

Tree of Life is a set of four panel pictures, devoted to the Slavic mythology, which was created on commission from the First Museum of Slavic Mythology in Tomsk, Russia. Painting on wood with acrylic. The images for the composition were inspired by the Slavic folklore: carving motives, jewelry, etc. The stylized images were organized into a composition according to the topic of each panel: Tree of Life; Lada; Roaring Beasts, Singing Birds; Semargls.

The first Museum of Slavic mythology is unique and doesn’t have any counterparts in the world. It’s collection consists of paintings by modern Russian artists, and these paintings are connected by a common subject – the mythology of our ancestors, the ancient Slavs and their heroic past, Russian fairy tales and customs.

museum site

Tree of LifeLadaSimarglsBeasts Prowling, Birds Pecking


Fancy-ball Matryoshka Dolls

Matrona means ‘grand lady’ in Latin. In Russia, however, this name was more common in peasant families, so it’s no surprise the traditional Russian doll was named after it.

Matryoshkas are always hand-painted, each of them designed as one human figure. Traditionally, it is a Russian woman with her family, though nowadays there are matryoshkas showing music bands, presidents, etc.

This project is distinguished by a new technique of matryoshka painting: the dolls’ figures are used just as an art space for a composition with three characters in the party suits.

View 1View 2View 3


Read more about wood painting technique…

Recent works
Удостоверение к медали Московского союза художниковPanel Medal  of the Moscow Artists UnionМедаль Московского союза художниковСлава Землеустроителям РоссииСтатья
© 2019 Valentina Smolenskaya Яндекс.Метрика

Роспись по дереву

Серия из четырех панно «Древо Жизни»

Серия из четырех панно «Древо Жизни», посвященная теме славянской мифологии, была создана по заказу Первого музея славянской мифологии в городе Томске. Роспись выполнена акрилом по дереву. В композиции использовались образы, почерпнутые в народном искусстве древних славян: мотивах домовой резьбы, ювелирных изделиях и т.д. Они были стилизованы и композиционно выстроены по темам каждой из панелей: «Древо Жизни», «Лада», «Звери рыскучие, птицы клевучие», «Семарглы».

Первый музей славянской мифологии – альтернативный социокультурный проект, в основе которого лежит частная художественная коллекция. Это оригинальные станковые живопись, графика и произведения отечественного декоративно-прикладного искусства по мотивам славянской истории, мифологии, эпических сказаний, русских сказок и обычаев.

сайт музея

Древо жизниЛадаСимарглыЗвери рыкучие, птицы клевучие


Матрешки «Карнавал»

Имя Матрона в переводе с латинского значит «знатная дама». Но в России это имя было более распространено в крестьянских семьях, и неслучайно деревянную игрушку называли ласково Матрешка.

Игрушка Матрешка всегда расписывается вручную, и на каждой форме бывает изображена одна персона. Традиционно это может быть Русская красавица со своей семьей, а сейчас делают и матрешки с музыкальными группами, президентами и т.д.

В этом проекте автор применяет новый подход к росписи матрешки: используя только саму ее форму в качестве живописного пространства для своей композиции, где изображены три персонажа в карнавальных костюмах.

Вид 1Вид 2Вид 3


Подробнее о технике росписи по дереву…

Последние работы
Панно Слава Землеустроителям РоссииСтатьяСтатьяТитульный листОбложка
© 2017 Валентина Смоленская Яндекс.Метрика